The Future of Design Education – A Discussion at Four Different Places

How should design education be structured, what should it involve to support students in pursuing successful careers? To what extent are current design curricula still fit for contemporary challenges in design? Or, is it necessary to move forward in a completely new direction? If there was a new design university that could draw from an abundance of resources without having to take older structures into consideration, what would be taught there and which teaching methods would be used?

Between March 2019 and February 2020, the iF Design Foundation hosted four conferences, or rather hearings, each one of which lasted for several days. The events were dedicated to the question of how future design teaching or design education must be structured.

In Gmund (Germany), in Pasadena (USA), in Kyoto (Japan) and in Johannesburg (South Africa) experts from a wide range of fields addressed the given questions ­– from students and teachers of various disciplines, from newcomers and experienced design managers to protagonists from the worlds of business and research.

The format chosen for each event was that of a hearing because the aim of the iF Design Foundation was to hear different voices and provide a platform for discussion. Accordingly, instead of holding lectures, discussion spaces were created in various constellations.

A catalog of 80 different questions served as inspiration and guideline for the hearings. The catalog was based on an international study conducted in 2016 by Prof. Dr. René Spitz.

The iF Design Foundation has published the results of the four hearings in the White Book on the Future of Design Education – Designing Design Education, due for publication in March 2021.

Hearings

Instagram

Die Zukunft der Designausbildung – diskutiert in vier Stationen

Hearing Kyoto discussion

Wie sollte die Designlehre gestaltet sein, damit sie ihren Absolventen zu einer erfolgreichen Zukunft verhilft? Inwieweit ist die gegenwärtige Ausbildung noch zeitgemäß – oder muss eine vollständig neue Richtung eingeschlagen werden? Wenn es morgen eine neue Designhochschule gäbe, die aus dem Vollen schöpfen könnte ohne auf ältere Strukturen Rücksicht nehmen zu müssen, welche Inhalte und mit welchen Methoden würden dort gelehrt werden?

Zwischen März 2019 und Februar 2020 veranstaltete die iF Design Foundation vier mehrtägige Konferenzen bzw. Hearings. Sie widmeten sich der Frage, wie die künftige Designlehre bzw. Designausbildung gestaltet sein muss.

Hearing Johannesburg discussion

In Gmund (Deutschland), Pasadena (USA), Kyoto (Japan) und Johannesburg (Südafrika) beschäftigten sich Expertinnen und Experten aus den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen mit den vorgegebenen Fragestellungen – von Studierenden bis zu Lehrenden verschiedener Fachrichtungen, von Newcomern bis zu erfahrenen Designmanagerinnen und -managern, von Akteurinnen und Akteuren aus der Wirtschaft bis zu Protagonistinnen und Protagonisten der Forschung.

Hearing Gmund discussion

Als Inspiration und Leitfaden für die Konferenzen diente ein 80 verschiedenste Fragen umfassender Katalog. Dieser basiert auf einer von Prof. Dr. René Spitz durchgeführten internationalen Studie aus dem Jahr 2016 (verlinken auf Seite zur Studie).

Die in den vier Hearings zusammengetragenen Ergebnisse hat die iF Design Foundation im „Weißbuch zur Zukunft der Designlehre – Designing Design Education, Erscheinungstermin März 2021, veröffentlicht.

Die Hearings

Instagram Linkedin YouTube