Legendary Design Schools or: The shoulders on which we stand – Part 1

Par

What must design education look like today if it wants to empower students to shape the changes in business and society? The iF Design Foundation has been addressing this question for several years as part of its intensive research work. It is always worthwhile looking back at what happened in the past. Which historical design schools are still shaping design studies today? A retrospective look at five of the most important among them.

Glasgow School of Art ©John Peter Photography / Alamy Stock Photo
Glasgow School of Art ©John Peter Photography / Alamy Stock Photo

One of the first: The Glasgow School of Art

Established 1845 in Glasgow, Scotland, as one of the early Government Schools of Design, the GSA is one of the oldest of all the design schools that continue to influence us. Art, design and architecture are still taught there today. The school already enjoyed an excellent reputation when, in the 1870s, the Glasgow School, a circle of influential artists and designers, was founded: Among others, the young architect Charles Rennie Mackintosh and others in the Arts and Crafts Movement invented the geometric “Glasgow Style.” With the new GSA school building, built from 1896 to 1909, Mackintosh established his own style of Art Nouveau, which had a lasting influence on Europe in the years that followed. To this day, Mackintosh and the GSA are synonymous with the courage to think in new ways and to air this new thinking in novel spaces.

Art and design talent forge: The Royal College of Art (RCA)

The place where countless renowned designers and artists started their careers. The RCA was founded almost 200 years ago, in 1837, in Somerset House in London. It was initially called Government School of Design. Since 1896 it has borne the present name Royal College of Art. Influenced by the Arts and Crafts philosophy in its early years, after 1900, the RCA became the birthplace of the New Sculpture movement. Teaching of graphic design, industrial design and fashion design began in the mid-20th century. A short time later, the RCA became the center of pop art culture. To this day, the school is considered one of the most influential post-graduate universities for art and design. Designers who studied there include Richard Seymour, Dick Powell, Ross Lovegrove, James Dyson, Philip Treacy, Christopher Bailey, Thomas Heatherwick, Zandra Rhodes – to name just a few.

Grant Smith-VIEW / ©Alamy Stock Photo
RCA Grant Smith-VIEW ©Alamy Stock Photo
Cooper Union, New York, 2016 ©Mizoula / iStockphoto.com
Cooper Union, New York, 2016 ©Mizoula / iStockphoto.com

A radically new vision: Cooper Union, New York City

Open to men and women, to young people from the working classes and of every color: In 1859, inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper created something unique and unprecedented in New York City with his school of art, architecture, engineering, humanities and social sciences. Cooper’s vision: “Wisdom’s ways are ways of pleasantness and all her paths are peace.” Excellent educational opportunities went hand in hand with sociopolitical ideas. To this day, Cooper Union exists in Manhattan, firmly based on the values Peter Cooper so boldly and presciently proclaimed.

Pioneer, Legend, Brand: The Bauhaus in Weimar, Dessau and Berlin

“The ultimate goal of all artistic activity is the building!” stated founder Walter Gropius. A return to craftsmanship in architecture, sculpture and painting in order to shape the future. At the Bauhaus (1919 to 1933), the most influential art school in the 20th century, ideas were new and radical, work was interdisciplinary, forms and ideas were fought for. Thoughts, inventions, products, works of art and buildings conceived at the Bauhaus are still influential today. This also applies to the legacy left by former teachers and students, including Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, Herbert Bayer, Josef Albers, Marianne Brandt, Gunta Stölzl, Mart Stam, Marcel Breuer and many others.

Bauhaus Dessau, Studio Building (Picture: 1925/26)©Erich Consemüller
Bauhaus Dessau, Studio Building (Picture: 1925/26) ©Erich Consemüller
MIT ©HalzhanZheng / iStock
MIT ©HalzhanZheng / iStock

New impulses for design: MIT and MIT Media Lab

Impulses not only, but also, for design through research in the fields of new technologies, engineering and the natural sciences: As early as 1865, the first students completed their first term at the world-famous Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Initially located in Boston, the school moved to Cambridge in 1916. It has produced almost 100 Nobel Prize winners and is considered the world’s leading university for research into technology-based teaching and new forms of communication. Founded in 1985 by Nicholas Negroponte and Jerome Wiesner, the MIT Media Lab concerns itself with research into new technologies, their development and creative application. The focus here is, among other things, on human behavior in virtual reality as well as novel forms of communication and ways of distributing information.

Even more legendary design colleges from around the world we present here.

Legendäre Designschulen oder das Fundament, auf dem wir stehen – Teil 1

Wie muss ein Designstudium heute beschaffen sein, um die Veränderungen in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zu gestalten? Mit dieser Frage beschäftigt sich die iF Design Foundation seit einigen Jahren im Rahmen intensiver Forschungsarbeit. Dabei lohnt immer einmal wieder der Blick zurück. Welche historischen Designschulen prägen das Designstudium auch heute noch? Eine Rückbesinnung auf fünf der bedeutendsten unter ihnen.

Glasgow School of Art ©John Peter Photography / Alamy Stock Photo
Glasgow School of Art ©John Peter Photography / Alamy Stock Photo

Eine der ersten: Die Glasgow School of Art

Als eine der frühen Government Schools of Design 1845 im schottischen Glasgow gegründet, ist die GSA eine der ältesten aller Designschulen, die uns bis heute beeinflussen. Seit jeher wird hier Kunst, Design und Architektur gelehrt. Die Reputation der Schule war schon groß, bevor in den 1870er-Jahren in ihrem Umfeld die Glasgow School entstand. Hier erfanden u.a. der junge Architekt Charles Rennie Mackintosh und andere im Arts and Crafts Movement den geometrischen „Glasgow Style“. Mit dem neuen Schulgebäude der GSA, von 1896 bis 1909 erbaut, begründete Mackintosh seine eigene Spielart des Jugendstils, die in den Folgejahren Europa nachhaltig beeinflusste. Bis heute stehen Mackintosh und die GSA für den Mut, Neues denken und zu wagen und diesen Gedanken in neuartigen Räumen Luft zu verschaffen.

Kaderschmiede für Kunst und Design: das Royal College of Art (RCA)

Startpunkt für unzählige erfolgreiche Karrieren von Designer:innen und Künstler:innen über fast 200 Jahre hinweg: Bereits 1837 wurde das RCA, zunächst als „Government School of Design“, in London im Somerset House gegründet. Seit 1896 trägt sie den heutigen Namen Royal College of Art. In den frühen Jahren von der Arts-and-Crafts-Philosophie geprägt, wurde das RCA nach 1900 zum Geburtsort des New Sculpture Movements. Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts hielt das Design Einzug – von Grafik- über Produkt- bis zu Mode-Design. Wenig später wurde das RCA zum Zentrum der Pop Art Culture. Bis heute gilt die Universität als eine der einflussreichsten Post-Graduate-Hochschulen für Kunst und Design – zu den Designer:innen, die hier studierten, gehören Richard Seymour, Dick Powell, Ross Lovegrove, James Dyson, Philip Treacy, Christopher Bailey, Thomas Heatherwick, Zandra Rhodes – um nur einige wenige zu nennen.

Grant Smith-VIEW ©Alamy Stock Photo
Grant Smith-VIEW ©Alamy Stock Photo
Cooper Union, New York, 2016 ©Mizoula / iStockphoto.com
Cooper Union, New York, 2016 ©Mizoula / iStockphoto.com

Eine radikal neue Vision: Cooper Union, New York City

Offen für Frauen und Männer, für junge Leute aus der Arbeiterklasse und jeder Hautfarbe: Der Erfinder, Industrielle und Philanthrop Peter Cooper schuf in New York City 1859 mit seiner Schule für Kunst, Architektur, Ingenieurwesen, Human- und Sozialwissenschaften etwas Einzigartiges und nie Dagewesenes. Coopers Vision: “Wisdom’s ways are ways of pleasantness and all her paths are peace.” Hervorragende Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten gingen Hand in Hand mit gesellschaftspolitischen Vorstellungen. Bis heute existiert die Cooper Union in Manhattan und steht auf dem festen Fundament der Werte, die Peter Cooper so mutig und vorausschauend proklamiert hatte.

Vorreiter, Mythos, Marke: das Bauhaus in Weimar, Dessau und Berlin

„Das Endziel aller bildnerischen Tätigkeit ist der Bau!“, schrieb der Bauhaus-Gründer Walter Gropius. Ihm ging es um eine Rückbesinnung auf das Handwerk in Architektur, Bildhauerei und Malerei, um Zukunft zu gestalten. Am Bauhaus (1919 bis 1933), der einflussreichsten Designschule des 20. Jahrhunderts, wurde radikal Neues erdacht, interdisziplinär gearbeitet, um Formen und Ideen gerungen. Dort entstandene Gedanken, Erfindungen, Produkte, Kunstwerke und Gebäude wirken bis heute fort. Dies gilt auch für das Erbe, das ehemalige Lehrer:innen und Schüler:innen hinterlassen haben, darunter Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, Herbert Bayer, Josef Albers, Marianne Brandt, Gunta Stölzl, Mart Stam, Marcel Breuer und viele andere.

Bauhaus Dessau, Ateliergebäude (Foto: 1925/26)©Erich Consemüller
Bauhaus Dessau, Ateliergebäude (Foto: 1925/26) ©Erich Consemüller

Noch mehr legendäre Designhochschulen dieser Welt stellen wir hier vor:

MIT ©HalzhanZheng / iStock
MIT ©HalzhanZheng / iStock

Neuartige Impulse für das Design: MIT und MIT Media Lab

Impulse nicht nur, aber auch für das Design durch Forschung im Bereich neuer Technologien sowie der Ingenieurs- und Naturwissenschaften: Am weltberühmten Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) absolvierten bereits 1865 die ersten Student:innen ihr Erstsemester. Zunächst in Boston beheimatet, zog die Hochschule 1916 nach Cambridge um. Fast 100 Nobelpreisträger:innen hat sie bisher hervorgebracht; sie gilt als weltweit führende Universität im Bereich der Erforschung technologiegestützter Lehre und neuer Kommunikationsformen. Die 1985 von Nicholas Negroponte und Jerome Wiesner gegründete Fakultät MIT Media Lab beschäftigt sich mit der Erforschung, der Weiterentwicklung und einem kreativen Umgang mit neuen digitalen Technologien. Im Fokus stehen hier u.a. das menschliche Verhalten in virtueller Realität sowie neuartige Kommunikationsformen und Wege der Informationsverteilung.

Noch mehr legendäre Designhochschulen dieser Welt stellen wir hier vor.