4th Hearing: Johannesburg, South Africa

23 – 25 February 2020, in cooperation with Greenside Design Center

The 26 participants are currently working in 11 countries (Lebanon, Nigeria, Ghana, South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Dubai and India). They represent design practice as employed and independent designers, as design teachers and theoreticians at universities, as networkers and planners in government agencies and professional associations, and as managers and consultants. The interdisciplinary cooperation that is characteristic of design is reflected in the experts’ various fields of activity – from business and administration to organizational development and from social entrepreneurship to design with a focus on communication, product, textile, UX and interiors.

What was discussed?

Compared to the previous hearings in Gmund am Tegernsee (Germany), Pasadena (USA) and Kyoto (Japan), a special thematic focus was the relationship between design and community. Among other things, the relationship of design to traditional practices in African and Indian cultures plays an important role. Design is often perceived as a consequence of colonization by western industrial societies, which focus on the individual as an autonomous subject of an objectified society.

In contrast, community and nature as the material and spiritual basis of life play a more significant role in African and Indian cultures. This point seemed particularly stimulating from the perspective that aspects such as sustainability and cooperation are currently receiving enormous attention in the international debate. Thus, it was discussed what the western-dominated design discourse can learn from such traditions for future development.

A second focus was the discussion on African cultural concepts, for example on what is referred to as the inner eye: the manual execution and visualization of a design must be preceded by an inner image, a skill based on that ability. In addition, the ‘wisdom’ of traditional, anonymous artefacts was discussed in contrast to the undisputed stupidity of many industrial products.

Statements of our experts

Dr. Mugendi K. M’Rithaa

Saki Mafundikwa

Dr. Vikki Du Preez

Sam Nii Adjaidoo

Chrissa Amuah

Marcel Rossouw

Conrad Gonsalves

Lani Adeoye

Sanotsh Kshirsagar

Felix Ofori Dartey

Robin Turner

Siyanda Mbele

Angus Donald Campbell

Desmond Laubscher

Juliet Kavishe

Alex Simm

Onica Lekuntwane

Peter Ekanem

Our experts

Hearing in Johannesburg, Südafrika

23. bis 25. Februar 2020, in Kooperation mit dem Greenside Design Center

Hearing Johannesburg group

Die 26 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer wirken derzeit in 11 Staaten (Libanon, Nigeria, Ghana, Südafrika, Nigeria, Namibia, Botswana, Kenia, Zimbabwe, Dubai sowie Indien). Sie repräsentieren Designpraxis als angestellte und selbständige Designer, Lehre und Theorie in Hochschulen, Vernetzung und Planung in staatlichen Behörden und Berufsverbänden sowie Management und Beratung. Die fürs Design charakteristische interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zeigt sich an den verschiedenen Tätigkeitsfeldern der Expertinnen und Experten – von Wirtschaft und Verwaltung über Organisationsentwicklung und Social Entrepreneurship bis zu Design mit den Schwerpunkten Kommunikation, Produkt, Textil, UX und Interior.

Hearing Johannesburg discussion
Hearing Johannesburg discussion
Hearing Johannesburg discussion

Worüber wurde diskutiert?

Im Vergleich zu den vorigen Hearings in Gmund am Tegernsee, Pasadena (USA) und Kyoto (Japan) lag ein besonderer Themenschwerpunkt auf dem Verhältnis von Design zur Gemeinschaft. Dabei spielt u.a. die Beziehung des Designs zu traditionellen Praktiken in afrikanischen und indischen Kulturen eine wichtige Rolle. Design wird vielfach als Folge der Kolonialisierung durch westliche Industriegesellschaften wahrgenommen, in deren Mittelpunkt das Individuum als autonomes Subjekt einer versachlichten Gesellschaft steht.

Demgegenüber wird in afrikanischen und indischen Kulturen oftmals eine höhere Rolle der Gemeinschaft und der Natur als materielle und spirituelle Lebensgrundlage dargestellt. Dieser Hinweis erschien insbesondere unter der Perspektive anregend, dass gegenwärtig in der internationalen Debatte Aspekte wie Nachhaltigkeit und Kooperation eine herausragende Aufmerksamkeit erhalten. So wurde darüber diskutiert, inwiefern der westlich dominierte Designdiskurs für die zukünftige Entwicklung von solchen Traditionen lernen kann.

Einen zweiten Schwerpunkt bildete die Diskussion über afrikanische kulturelle Konzepte wie das sogenannte innere Auge: händischen Ausführung und Sichtbarmachung eines Entwurfs muss die innere Vorstellung vorausgehen, wobei sich diese Fertigkeit auf jene Fähigkeit stützt. Zudem ging es um die sogenannte Weisheit traditioneller, anonymer Artefakte in Abgrenzung zur unbestrittenen Dummheit vieler industrieller Produkte.

Statements unserer Experten

Dr. Mugendi K. M’Rithaa

Saki Mafundikwa

Dr. Vikki Du Preez

Sam Nii Adjaidoo

Chrissa Amuah

Marcel Rossouw

Conrad Gonsalves

Lani Adeoye

Sanotsh Kshirsagar

Felix Ofori Dartey

Robin Turner

Siyanda Mbele

Angus Donald Campbell

Desmond Laubscher

Juliet Kavishe

Alex Simm

Onica Lekuntwane

Peter Ekanem

Unsere Expert:innen