2nd Hearing: Pasadena, USA

17 – 19 October 2019, in cooperation with the ArtCenter College of Design

191018_If-ArtCenterPasadena_RES2437

The second hearing hosted by the iF Design Foundation was held in cooperation with the ArtCenter College of Design in Pasadena, California, located east of Los Angeles. Great importance was attached to the broadest possible diversity among the 30 participants from the USA and Europe. The guests included female and male members of various design colleges, as well as senior and junior designers and design managers from e.g. Amazon, Google and IBM.

What was discussed?

 

Compared to the first hearing in Gmund am Tegernsee (Germany), the discussions in Pasadena revolved around significantly different topics: initially, the focus was on questions relating to the structure and organization of design teaching. This is to be seen as a mirror of the US education system, because university education is very much seen as a private matter and not primarily as a societal task. The most reputable degrees are therefore usually linked to high tuition fees. This makes access to design studies structurally difficult for many groups of people.

The participants in the hearing developed alternative organizational forms for design universities to ensure that the talents that universities seek and need can find their way in. This also included considerations of using the digitization of education as a potential for having a more diverse body of students.

A second focus, which was not discussed in this breadth and depth in Germany, was the effect of big data and artificial intelligence (AI). It was obvious to all experts that these influences have already substantially changed design practice and will continue to do so. A broad discussion arose about the ethical evaluation of the consequences of this development. Different positions were exchanged on the question of what consequences this would have for design education. While the critics of the use of AI expressed scepticism regarding the transfer of AI to design universities, the advocates argued that design education should adapt to the status quo in the digitized economy.

Statements

Sheppard Nasahn,
Head of Global Customer Experience Design, Amazon

Andrea Ruggiero,
Parsons School of Design | New York

Mariana Prieto, Innovation Leader, Wildlife Conservation, Former IDEO.org | Los Angeles

Chris Do,
Founder of TheFutur, design school

Our Experts

Hearing in Pasadena, USA

17. bis 19. Oktober 2019, in Kooperation mit dem ArtCenter College of Design

Hearing Pasadena group

Das zweite Hearing der iF Design Foundation wurde in Kooperation mit dem ArtCenter College of Design im kalifornischen Pasadena östlich von Los Angeles durchgeführt. Bei den 30 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern aus den USA und Europa wurde großer Wert auf eine möglichst breite Diversität gelegt. Zu den Gästen zählten neben weiblichen und männlichen Angehörigen verschiedener Designhochschulen auch Senior und Junior Designerinnen und Designer sowie Designmanagerinnen und -manager z.B. von Amazon, Google und IBM.

Hearing Pasadena discussion
Hearing Pasadena discussion
Hearing Pasadena discussion
Hearing Pasadena discussion
Hearing Pasadena discussion

Worüber wurde diskutiert?

Die Diskussionen in Pasadena drehten sich um signifikant unterschiedliche Themenschwerpunkte, verglichen mit dem ersten Hearing im bayerischen Gmund am Tegernsee. So standen in Kalifornien zuerst Fragen der Struktur und Organisation der Designlehre im Vordergrund. Dies ist als Spiegel des Bildungssystems in den USA zu sehen, weil universitäre Bildung dort im Wesentlichen nicht als gemeinschaftliche Aufgabe einer Gesellschaft gesehen wird, sondern als private Angelegenheit. Gute und beste Qualifikationen in Hochschulen sind deshalb meist an hohe Studiengebühren gekoppelt. Dadurch ist der Zugang vieler Personengruppen zum Designstudium strukturell erschwert.

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Hearings entwickelten alternative Organisationsformen für Designhochschulen, die gewährleisten sollen, dass genau diejenigen Talente, die von den Hochschulen gesucht und gebraucht werden, auch ihren Weg dorthin finden können. Dazu zählten auch Überlegungen, die Digitalisierung des Bildungswesens als Potenzial für die Diversifizierung der Studierenden zu nutzen.

Ein zweiter Schwerpunkt, der in dieser Breite und Tiefe in Deutschland nicht zur Sprache kam, ist der Impuls von Big Data und Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI). Es war für alle Expertinnen und Experten offensichtlich, dass dadurch die Designpraxis bereits substanziell verändert ist und sich weiter verändern wird. Über die ethische Bewertung der Folgen dieser Entwicklung entstand eine breite Diskussion. Damit ging der Austausch unterschiedlicher Positionen zur Frage einher, welche Konsequenzen sich daraus für die Designlehre ergeben. Während Kritiker des Einsatzes von KI dem Transfer in die Designhochschulen skeptisch gegenüber standen, plädierten Befürworter für eine tiefgreifende Anpassung der Designlehre an den Status Quo in der digitalisierten Wirtschaft.

Statements

Sheppard Nasahn,
Head of Global Customer Experience Design, Amazon

Andrea Ruggiero,
Parsons School of Design | New York

Mariana Prieto, Innovation Leader, Wildlife Conservation, Former IDEO.org | Los Angeles

Chris Do,
Founder of TheFutur, design school

Unsere Expert:innen