Study on the Future of Design Education

How it came about and what it is about

Professional practice in design is changing. What are the consequences for design education if it wants to actively accompany, and contribute to shaping, this change?

To what extent is current design education conducive to future success in design, and which changes are necessary? What would a new design university – one that was radically committed to mastering the future – ideally look like? What content would be taught? What methods would be used? How would this new design university be organized? What tasks and goals would it dedicate itself to?

iF design foundation study

In 2015, this topic prompted the iF Design Foundation (then: iF Industrie Forum Design e.V.) to initiate a study on the future of design education. It was conducted by Dr. René Spitz, Professor of Design Science and Communication Management at the Rheinische Fachhochschule (RFH) Cologne, Germany.

At its core, the study consisted of guided interviews. Between February and October 2016, a total of 150 experts were interviewed in 25 cities, spread across 11 countries on three continents. In order to ensure the greatest possible diversity, the interviewees included not only students but also teachers, independent and employed designers, young professionals and design managers from large corporations.

In addition to the systematic analysis of the recorded interviews, the scientific discourse on the fundamentals and practice of design education was evaluated. This was complemented by studying the program publications of international design schools.

 

Findings and conclusions

Based on the findings of this study, the conclusions in relation to future design education can be summarized as follows:

In future, the goal of a design task will not be the development of an isolated individual solution. Instead, design will be considered a process-oriented practice. This involves the creation of meaningful contexts (systems). Aesthetic decisions will be made at the end of this integrative process, in the course of which many different, sometimes contradictory, interests will be taken into account. In order to meet the requirements of this holistic approach, the non-aesthetic aspects of a task (technical, managerial, cultural, political, societal) will receive considerably greater attention in design education than has been the case to date. Values related to social responsibility will be the benchmark that permeates all areas of study.

It can be assumed that design education programs will be organized in the form of working on real projects in cooperation with clients from business and other areas of society (keyword: project-based learning or learning by doing). Accordingly, any form of knowledge transfer or exchange will take place directly, using concrete examples. Iterative loops will structure both the work on individual projects and the entire course of study.

Students always work together in groups, in changing and most diverse constellations. Experiments, research and science are given a greater share of the course. The training of skills in verbal, non-verbal, visual and interpersonal communication will play a central role. In addition, it can be assumed that design skills will be a fundamental precondition for enrolment and that their teaching will no longer be the focus of design education. Prototypes as stages of the development process will be produced manually in workshops and will also be developed digitally.

 

From the study to the hearings

The majority of the interviews of the 2016 study ended with the interviewees wanting to know what views and assessments had been expressed so far. The iF Design Foundation took up this suggestion of a feedback loop in 2018 and consequently hosted four hearings, which took place in 2019 and in 2020 in Europe, the US, Asia and Africa.

 

Around the world in 80 questions

80 questions were used as preparation and guidelines for the hearings. They are based on the key statements of the 2016 study.

Instagram

Studie zur Zukunft der Designlehre

Wie es dazu kam und worum es geht

Die Berufspraxis im Design ist im Wandel. Welche Konsequenzen ergeben sich daraus für die Ausbildung, wenn sie die Veränderung aktiv begleiten und mitgestalten will?

Inwiefern ist die gegenwärtige Lehre dienlich für einen künftigen Erfolg im Design ist und in welcher Hinsicht sind Änderungen erforderlich? Wie sieht im Idealfall eine neue Designhochschule aus, die sich radikal mit der Bewältigung der Zukunft befasst? Welche Inhalte würden hier vermittelt? Welche Methoden würden angewandt? Wie wäre diese neue Designhochschule organisiert? Welchen Aufgaben und Zielen würde sie sich verschreiben?

iF design foundation study

Dieses Thema veranlasste im Jahr 2015 die iF Design Foundation (damals noch: iF Industrie Forum Design e.V.) dazu, eine Studie zur Zukunft der Designlehre zu initiieren. Sie wurde von Dr. René Spitz, Professor für Designwissenschaft und Kommunikationsmanagement an der Rheinischen Fachhochschule (RFH) Köln, durchgeführt.

Diese Untersuchung bestand im Kern aus leitfadengestützten Interviews. Zwischen Februar und Oktober 2016 wurden insgesamt 150 Expert:innen in 25 Städten, verteilt auf 11 Länder auf drei Kontinenten, befragt. Um eine möglichst hohe Diversität zu gewährleisten, zählten zu den Interviewten neben Studierenden auch Lehrende, Freelancer ebenso wie festangestellte Designer:innen, Berufsanfänger:innen genauso wie Designmanager:innen großer Konzerne.

Neben der systematischen Analyse der Aufzeichnungen aller Interviews wurde der wissenschaftliche Diskurs über die Grundlagen und die Praxis der Designausbildung ausgewertet. Hinzu kam eine Recherche der Veröffentlichungen internationaler Designhochschulen über ihr Programm.

 

Ergebnisse und Konsequenzen

Aus den Ergebnissen der Studie lassen sich verschiedene Schlussfolgerungen für die Designlehre der Zukunft zusammenfassen:

Als Ziel einer gestalterischen Aufgabe wird künftig nicht die Formulierung einer isolierten Einzellösung angestrebt werden, sondern Design wird als prozessorientierte Tätigkeit praktiziert. Dabei geht es um die Bildung von bedeutungsvollen Zusammenhängen (Systeme). Ästhetische Entscheidungen werden am Ende dieses integrativen Prozesses stehen, in dessen Verlauf viele unterschiedliche, teilweise auch widersprüchliche Interessen berücksichtigt werden. Um dem ganzheitlichen Anspruch zu genügen, erfahren die nicht-ästhetischen Aspekte einer Aufgabe (technische, betriebswirtschaftliche, kulturelle, politische, gesellschaftliche) erheblich größere Aufmerksamkeit im Studium als bisher. Der Maßstab gesellschaftlich verantwortlicher Werte durchdringt alle Bereiche des Studiums.

Es ist davon auszugehen, dass das Studium der Bearbeitung realer Projekte in Kooperation mit Auftraggebern aus der Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft organisiert sein wird, Stichwort project based learning bzw. learning by doing). Dementsprechend erfolgt jegliche Form der Wissensvermittlung bzw. des Austauschs unmittelbar am konkreten Beispiel. Dabei strukturieren iterative Schleifen sowohl die Bearbeitung des einzelnen Projekts als auch den gesamten Studienverlauf.

Die Studierenden arbeiten stets gemeinsam in Gruppen mit wechselnden Konstellationen in möglichst diversen Zusammensetzungen. Dabei wird Experimenten, Forschung und Wissenschaft ein größerer Anteil am Studium eingeräumt. Das Training der Kompetenzen verbaler, non-verbaler, visueller, interpersoneller Kommunikation nimmt eine zentrale Rolle des Studiums ein. Zudem ist davon auszugehen, dass gestalterische Kompetenzen künftig als Grundlagen vorausgesetzt werden und ihre Vermittlung nicht mehr im Fokus der Ausbildung steht. Prototypen als Etappen des Entwicklungsprozesses werden sowohl manuell in Werkstätten als auch digital beim Programmieren hervorgebracht.

 

Von der Studie zu den Hearings

Die Interviews der Studie 2016 endeten meist damit, dass die Gesprächspartner wissen wollten, welche Ansichten und Einschätzungen bisher vorgetragen wurden. Die iF Design Foundation nahm diese Anregung einer Feedback-Schleife 2018 auf und richtetet folglich vier Hearings aus, die 2019 und 2020 in Europa, den USA, Asien und Afrika stattfanden.

 

In 80 Fragen um die Welt

Als Vorbereitung und Leitfaden für die Hearings dienten 80 Fragen. Sie basieren auf den Kernaussagen der Studie 2016.

Instagram Linkedin YouTube