The iF Design Foundation

The roots of the iF Design Foundation go back to the year 1953. Germany was still struggling to overcome the impact of the Second World War. In Hannover, “Die gute Industrieform” (Good Industrial Form) was founded, an institution that would later change its name to “Industrie Forum” (or iF for short). Its mission was to foster and support the formal design of industrial products, with the aim of bringing the worlds of culture and business together.

To this day, iF is known for communicating the importance of design – for users, for brands and for society. In 2001, iF International Design Forum GmbH was founded, which is still operationally responsible for managing and publicizing the world-renowned iF Design Awards.

 

The iF Design Foundation was established in 2018 as a non-profit foundation with legal capacity and as a continuation of iF Industrie Forum Design e.V. The Foundation is registered with the commercial register (HRG) of the Hannover Local Court. It is subject to supervision by the Ministry of the Interior of the State of Lower Saxony.

Our mission

Our focus is on design research and education, and we see ourselves as an educational institution. To fulfill this purpose of the foundation, we initiate our own projects and provide financial support for selected projects.

We collaborate with other design-oriented foundations and non-profit organizations to pool resources and to develop and implement joint projects.

Fields of operation

Who we are

The iF Design Foundation is managed by the Foundation’s Board of Directors. These include:

The Board is supported by:

Gabriele Bertemann

Assistant

Sandra Fischer

Finance

Annegret Wulf-Pippig

Press

Die iF Design Foundation

Die Wurzeln der iF Design Foundation reichen zurück bis ins Jahr 1953. Deutschland kämpfte noch mit den Folgen des Zweiten Weltkriegs, da wurde in Hannover die Institution „Die gute Industrieform e.V.“ gegründet, die später ihren Namen in „Industrie Forum“ (kurz: iF) änderte. Mit dem Ziel, Kultur und Wirtschaft zusammenzuführen, sollte insbesondere die formale Gestaltung von Industrieprodukten gefördert werden. Bis heute steht iF für die Vermittlung der Bedeutung von Design – für Nutzer, für Marken und für die Gesellschaft. 2001 wurde die iF International Design Forum GmbH ins Leben gerufen, welche bis heute operativ mit der Abwicklung und Bekanntmachung der weltweit bekannten iF Design Awards betraut ist.

Die heutige iF Design Foundation wurde 2018 als gemeinnützige, rechtsfähige Stiftung und als Weiterführung des iF Industrie Forum Design e.V. gegründet. Sie ist eingetragen beim Amtsgericht Hannover im Handelsregister HRG. Sie unterliegt der Stiftungsaufsicht durch das Innenministerium des Landes Niedersachsen.

Unsere Mission

Unser Schwerpunkt liegt auf der wissenschaftlichen Forschung und Lehre, wir verstehen uns als Bildungsstiftung. Um diesen Stiftungszweck zu erfüllen, rufen wir eigene Projekte ins Leben und unterstützen ausgewählte Projekte finanziell.

Wir arbeiten mit anderen designorientierten Stiftungen und gemeinnützigen Organisationen zusammen, um Ressourcen zu bündeln und gemeinsame Projekte zu entwickeln und umzusetzen.

Unsere Wirkungsfelder

Forschung

Wissenschaftliche Forschung im Bereich Design Wir fördern… Forschung an deutschen…

Mehr erfahren

Wer wir sind

Die iF Design Foundation wird vom Vorstand der Stiftung geführt. Dazu zählen:

Christoph Böninger

Vorstandsvorsitzender

Fritz Frenkler

Stellvertretender Vorsitzender

Susanne Schmidhuber

Stellvertretende Vorsitzende

René Spitz

Mitglied des Vorstandes

Unterstützt wird der Vorstand von:

Gabriele Bertemann
Gabriele Bertemann

Assistenz Vorstand

Sandra Fischer
Sandra Fischer

Finanzen

Annegret Wulff-Pippig
Annegret Wulf-Pippig

Presse

Instagram Linkedin YouTube