Annette Diefenthaler appointed to the board of the iF Design Foundation

Designer Annette Diefenthaler of San Francisco, California, has been appointed to the board of the iF Design Foundation in Hannover, Germany, with effect from 1 June 2021.

As senior portfolio director at IDEO, a design firm, Diefenthaler is passionate about applying human-centered design to systemic challenges in education. Her work focuses on the design of schools and educational experiences. She designs innovative school models and develops new education systems for entire countries. At IDEO.org, a nonprofit design agency, she leads the Powerful Families, Powerful Communities NJ project, which focuses on transforming public youth services in the U.S.

Annette Diefenthaler

Thanks to her globe-spanning activities, including Russia, the Middle East, Asia, Australia and most recently New York City, Diefenthaler, who is originally from the Allgäu region of Bavaria (Germany), brings an international perspective to her design work.

Annette Diefenthaler has an extensive list of publications to her name. For the iF Design Foundation’s recently published Whitebook entitled “Designing Design Education”, she wrote an insightful essay on design and the U.S. education system. She is also co-author of IDEO’s “Design Thinking Toolkit for Educators”.

Christoph Böninger, Chairman of the iF Design Foundation, comments on the new addition to the Foundation’s board: “We look forward to seeing what international expertise and perspectives Annette Diefenthaler brings to the board. In addition to her profound understanding of design and outstanding network, she adds extensive know-how in design education, a field we will be focusing on in the years ahead. She is an enrichment for the team on our board and we would like to extend a very warm welcome to her!

At the same time, we would like to thank our founding board member Susanne Schmidhuber, who resigned from her post on 1 August, for all the trust and inspiration we experienced in our collaboration!”

Annette Diefenthaler in den Vorstand der iF Design Foundation berufen

Die Designerin Annette Diefenthaler aus San Francisco, Kalifornien, ist mit Wirkung zum 1. Juni 2021 in den Vorstand der iF Design Foundation in Hannover berufen worden.

Als Senior Portfolio Director des Designunternehmens IDEO ist es Diefenthalers Leidenschaft, menschenzentriertes Design auf systemische Herausforderungen im Bildungsbereich anzuwenden. Ihre Arbeit konzentriert sich auf die Gestaltung von Schulen und Bildungserfahrungen. Sie entwirft innovative Schulmodelle oder entwickelt neue Bildungssysteme für ganze Staaten. In der IDEO.org, einer Nonprofit Designagentur, leitet sie das Projekt Powerful Families, Powerful Communities NJ, das sich auf die Transformation der staatlichen Jugendfürsorge in den USA konzentriert.

Annette Diefenthaler

Dank ihrer weltumspannenden Tätigkeiten, unter anderem in Russland, dem Nahen Osten, Asien, Australien und zuletzt in New York City, bringt die ursprünglich aus dem Allgäu (Bayern) stammende Diefenthaler eine international geprägte Perspektive in ihr Designschaffen ein.

Annette Diefenthaler hat zahlreiche Publikationen vorzuweisen. Für das von der iF Design Foundation kürzlich veröffentlichte Weißbuch „Designing Design Education“ hat sie einen aufschlussreichen Essay über Design und das US-amerikanische Bildungssystem verfasst. Außerdem ist sie Co-Autorin des „Design Thinking Toolkit for Educators“ von IDEO.

Christoph Böninger, Vorstandsvorsitzender der iF Design Foundation, über die Verstärkung im Stiftungsvorstand: „Wir freuen uns auf die internationale Expertise und Perspektive von Annette Diefenthaler. Neben ihrem profunden Designverständnis und ausgezeichnetem Netzwerk bringt sie umfassendes Know-how im Bereich Design Education mit, auf das wir uns in den kommenden Jahren fokussiert haben. Sie wird unser Vorstandsteam bereichern. Wir heißen sie herzlich willkommen!

Gleichzeitig möchten wir uns bei unserem Gründungsvorstand Susanne Schmidhuber, die ihren Posten zum 1. August niedergelegt hat, für die vertrauensvolle und inspirierende Zusammenarbeit bedanken!“