International Design Education in Figures

3,035 – that’s how many state and privately managed design universities have been identified as part of the study for the White Book: 989 on the American and 1,232 on the Asian continent; 691 in Europe, 71 in Africa, and 52 in Australia.

design schools worldwide

These figures are not reliably substantiated or documented. For the White Book on the Future of Design Education, author René Spitz has undertaken research as thoroughly as possible on the basis of publicly available sources. The figures represent the findings, but they can only be regarded as a starting point for even more systematic research. They need to be verified.

The questions as to what is considered a university and how the concept of design is to be precisely defined would also have to be discussed and clarified because historical and cultural peculiarities differ widely. Accordingly, this illustration represents the same as the White Book does: a first attempt to address such a complex topic as design education and consider it from an international perspective. This will be one of the tasks the iF Design Foundation will continue to devote itself to.

 

Criteria for the survey

Based on a selection of countries, the survey includes state and privately run academic institutions that provide tertiary education (ISCED levels 6 to 8) and a minimum 2-year program. Space-related studies (e.g., urban design, interior design, stage design) are not included, but fashion, textile, jewelry, film, and photographic design are. The list is based on publicly available sources from the respective authorities and it does not claim to be exhaustive.

Status: January 12, 2021.

 

Get involved!

We would like to update this overview continuously. If you know precise figures from your country, please get in touch!

Designstudium in Zahlen

3.035. So viele öffentliche und private Hochschulen, an denen Design gelehrt wird, konnten im Rahmen der Recherche zum Weißbuch ermittelt werden. 989 auf dem amerikanischen und 1.232 auf dem asiatischen Kontinent, 691 in Europa, 71 in Afrika und 52 in Australien.

design schools worldwide

Verlässlich oder abgesichert dokumentiert ist diese Zahl nirgendwo. Für das Weißbuch zur Zukunft der Designlehre hat Autor René Spitz nach bestem Wissen und Gewissen recherchiert, was anhand öffentlich zugänglicher Quellen auffindbar war. Die Zahlen bilden ab, was zusammengetragen wurde, können aber nur der Grundstein einer noch systematischeren Recherche sein – sie müssen verifiziert werden.

Auch wäre zu diskutieren und zu klären, was als Hochschule gilt und wie der Designbegriff präzise zu fassen ist – zu groß sind historische und kulturelle Besonderheiten. So bildet auch diese Grafik ab, was das Weißbuch insgesamt darstellt: einen Anfang, sich einem so komplexen Thema wie dem Designstudium zu widmen und dieses in einem internationalen Panorama zu betrachten. Dies wird eine der Aufgaben sein, mit denen sich die iF Design Foundation weiterhin beschäftigen wird.

 

Kriterien für die Erfassung

Berücksichtigt wurden öffentliche und private akademische Insititutionen des tertiären Bildungsniveaus (ISCED-Stufen 6 bis 8) in ausgewählten Ländern, die ein mindestens 2-jähriges Programm anbieten. Raumbezogenen Studien (z.B. Urban Design, Interior Design, Stage Design) wurden nicht berücksichtigt, wohl aber Mode-, Textil-, Schmuck, Film- und Fotodesign. Die Zusammenstellung erfolgte anhand öffentlich zugänglicher Quellen der zuständigen Ministerien ohne Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit. Stand: 12. Januar 2021.

 

Wirken Sie mit!

Wir möchten diesen Überblick gerne stetig aktualisieren. Wenn Sie präzise Zahlen aus Ihrem Land kennen, setzen Sie sich gerne mit uns in Verbindung!