Public Value and Design Studies 2024

What public value do design courses have in Germany? To what extent is the design course aimed at making a significant contribution to strengthening the common good? We examined these questions for the first time in 2022. The second study will be carried out in 2024.

Impulse 4: Leadership for Sustainability & Public Value

Leadership is one of the personal skills that are particularly important as so-called soft skills for successful professional practice. This aspect of personal development plays a crucial role in overcoming the challenges that arise from an orientation towards the common good. That's why this event is dedicated to values-based and sustainability-oriented leadership as well as public value.

Impulse 3: Artificial Intelligence

Artificial intelligence was already identified by the design community in the white paper study (2015-2020) as a core competency for future designers. In this event, approaches to teaching this new technology in design education were developed.

Impulse 2: Personal development and personal growth

The most important demands for future design studies published in the 2021 White Paper include those that relate to aspects of personality development. The thesis is that professional success in the future will depend on personal qualities and skills that do not count as professional expertise in the narrower sense. This event focuses on resilience, emotional intelligence, analytical thinking and critical judgment in order to integrate these topics into design teaching.

Quo Vadi's design? (2013)

This free publication documents a multi-day event in which the status quo of design was critically questioned. It brings together four fundamental theses and marks the starting point for examining the future of design and thus design education through the iF Design Foundation.

Study on the future of design teaching (2015–2016)

The research project “Designing Design Education” started in 2015 with a simple question: Clearly, the professional practice of design is undergoing significant change. What consequences will this have for design teaching if it does not want to chase these changes but rather actively shape them? The first phase consisted of an inventory of the status of research and publications, the second phase consisted of 100 interviews on site in Europe, Asia and the USA.

Hearings (2019–2020)

The third research phase of the “Designing Design Education” project consisted of a series of multi-day events in Europe, USA, Asia and Africa. In Gmund, Pasadena, Kyoto and Johannesburg, the invited participants responded to the findings of the 2016 study (“Around the World in 80 Questions”). Building on this, they developed different concepts for studying design that fit into the respective cultural, political and economic contexts.

Design studies in Germany: The course finder

All design courses at German universities can be researched on this platform: which courses are there, which universities offer them, are they private or state universities and many other questions are answered immediately here. The free offer is aimed specifically at anyone who is interested in studying design and would like up-to-date and independent guidance.

Impuls 5: Innovation

Leadership bzw. Führung zählt zu den persönlichen Fähigkeiten, die als sog. soft skills besonders wichtig sind für eine erfolgreiche Berufspraxis. Dieser Aspekt der Persönlichkeitsentwicklung spielt eine entscheidende Rolle, um die Herausforderungen zu meistern, die durch eine Orientierung am Gemeinwohl entstehen. Deshalb widmet sich diese Veranstaltung der wertebasierten und auf Nachhaltigkeit ausgerichteten Führung sowie dem Public Value.

Public Value und Designstudium 2024

Welchen Public Value haben Designstudiengänge in Deutschland? Inwieweit ist das Designstudium darauf ausgerichtet, einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Stärkung des Gemeinwohls zu leisten? Diese Fragen haben wir 2022 erstmals untersucht. Die zweite Studie wird 2024 durchgeführt.

Impuls 3: Künstliche Intelligenz

Künstliche Intelligenz wurde bereits in der Weißbuch-Studie (2015–2020) von der Design-Community als eine Kernkompetenz für zukünftige Designerinnen und Designer identifiziert. In dieser Veranstaltung wurden Ansätze zur Vermittlung dieser neuen Technologie in der Designausbildung erarbeitet.

Impuls 2: Persönlichkeitsentwicklung und Personal Growth

Zu den wichtigsten Forderungen an das künftige Designstudium, die im Weißbuch 2021 veröffentlicht sind, zählen solche, die sich auf Aspekte der Persönlichkeitsentwicklung beziehen. Die These lautet, dass in Zukunft der berufliche Erfolg von persönlichen Eigenschaften und Fähigkeiten abhängt, die nicht im engeren Sinn zur fachlichen Expertise zählen. In dieser Veranstaltung stehen Impulse zu Resilienz, emotionaler Intelligenz, analytischem Denken und kritischer Urteilskraft im Mittelpunkt, um diese Themen in die Designlehre zu integrieren.

Quo Vadis Design? (2013)

Diese kostenlose Publikation dokumentiert eine mehrtätige Veranstaltung, in der der Status Quo des Designs kritisch hinterfragt wurde. Sie bündelt vier grundlegende Thesen und markiert den Ausgangspunkt zur Auseinandersetzung mit der Zukunft des Designs und damit der Designausbildung durch die iF Design Foundation.

Studie zur Zukunft der Designlehre (2015–2016)

Das Forschungsprojekt »Designing Design Education« startete 2015 mit einer einfachen Frage: Ganz offensichtlich befindet sich die Berufspraxis des Designs in einem starken Wandel. Welche Konsequenzen ergeben sich daraus für die Designlehre, wenn sie diesen Veränderungen nicht hinterherlaufen, sondern sie aktiv gestalten will? Die erste Phase bestand aus einer Bestandsaufnahme des Stands der Forschung und der Publikationen, die zweite Phase aus 100 Interviews vor Ort in Europa, Asien und USA.

Hearings (2019–2020)

Die dritte Forschungsphase des Projekts »Designing Design Education« bestand aus einer Folge von mehrtätigen Veranstaltungen in Europa, USA, Asien und Afrika. In Gmund, Pasadena, Kyoto und Johannesburg reagierten die eingeladenen Teilnehmer auf die Erkenntnisse der Studie von 2016 (»In 80 Fragen um die Welt«). Darauf aufbauend, entwickelten sie unterschiedliche Konzepte für ein Designstudium, das sich in die jeweiligen kulturellen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Kontexte einfügt.

Designstudium Deutschland: Der Studiengangsfinder

Auf dieser Plattform können sämtliche Designstudiengänge an deutschen Hochschulen recherchiert werden: Welche Studiengänge gibt es, welche Hochschulen bieten sie an, handelt es sich um private oder staatliche Hochschulen und viele weitere Fragen werden hier sofort beantwortet. Das kostenlose Angebot richtet sich ausdrücklich an alle, die sich für ein Designstudium interessieren und sich dafür aktuelle und unabhängige Orientierung wünschen.